Who We Are

Established in 1926

Formed in September 1926, the Launceston Players is one of the oldest – if not the oldest – community theatre group in Australia. We have entertained audiences in Tasmania with world-first, innovative and fun productions for almost 90 years.

The founders of the Players were striving for excellence in local theatre and that continues to be the Players’ aim.

Over the years, we have staged everything from theatre-restaurant music hall to fully staged musicals, and classic and modern plays. We produced the first community productions of the Australian classic Dimboola and the Andrew Lloyd Webber musical Evita. The latter was a world premiere community production attracting much attention and high acclaim for the level of standards set. 2001 saw Launceston’s first production of Les Misérables and the Players continue to stage box office hits right down to Steel Magnolias in 2014 and in 2016, Dad’s Army.

We strive to encourage new talent particularly through our programs of one act plays which introduce new talent in writing, performing and directing.

But the Players could do none of this without the support of the local community. We live or die on community support both from individuals and organisations including local businesses and government.

One of our community services is the running of a comprehensive theatre wardrobe which holds a range of classic costumes as well as pieces from all periods. These are made available to other local groups and community organisations for a donation or by negotiation.

However, it is our program of theatre that continues to attract the widest community support. As in the last 91 years, the Players will continue to entertain and inform current and future Launceston audiences.


President Grahame Foster
Senior Vice President Elizabeth Santamaria
Vice President Jeff Hockley
Hon. Secretary Linda Madill OAM
Hon. Treasurer Vanessa Clifford
General Committee Mark Horner

Alan Telford

David Towns

Dennis Mann (Aug 2018)


Patron Her Excellency Professor The Honourable
Kate Warner AC, Governor of Tasmania
Life Members Margaret Dick
Jeff Hockley
Jacqueline Horne (1926 – 2017)
Linda Madill OAM
Gerard Maloney (1933-2014)
Ray Sangston
Elizabeth Santamaria